What can a Google top ranking mean to your business?
A higher number of web surfers finding your web site via search engines a higher number of visitors will result in direct effects such as increased purchases of products or services, customers contacting you via web forms or simply signing up for your newsletter
Getting people to your website with well targeted keywords spells success for your online business, ultimately increasing your businesses’ sales and revenues.
Return On Investment (ROI) (n)
ROI stands for “return on investment,”. The amount of profit or savings a business realizes as a result of an investment. Return on Investment or ROI is a return ratio that compares the net benefits of a project, versus its total costs. The positive effects of search engine optimization can be easily demonstrated, and the net results measured. It’s a known fact that businesses who have either hired an outside SEO firm or have taken the initial steps to optimize their websites achieve higher search engine rankings and increase their number of website visitors.
With the number of online businesses growing at a steady pace, SEO is one of the most cost effective ways of promoting your business. We teach you everything there is to know about Search Engine Optimization so that you may effectively market your online business. Essentially a well optimized website is more visible for those people looking for the products and services you offer via the search engines.
Monitor your ranking and visitor statistics
Measuring the tangible benefits of a search engine optimization campaign is very important. Monitoring and testing which keywords bring the most visitors to your website should become second nature to you. These days visitor behaviour analysis consists of much more than analyzing keyword phrases and web page views. You need to obtain information that gives you an insight into how your visitors are thinking and why particular search engine phrases are more effective than others.
- What behaviour leads to a favorable action on your website?
- What types of visitors generate the major leads and sales?
- Which web pages achieve the “conversion”? Why?
Measuring your search engine optimization ROI
Is there a way you can accurately measure search engine optimization return on your investments? The answer is yes, by using some market intelligence and some specific tools that can tell us how many times specific keywords are searched for in a given period. Let’s use an example: A New York real estate business wants to get more targeted leads for their business. The owner decides to accept a quote from a reputable SEO firm to optimize the website for 10 keywords terms for a fee of $5,500 over a six month period.
It’s time to do some number crunching to see if this a good deal for the real estate business. It’s estimated that 65-75 percent of clicks go to the top 10 websites or the first page results on most of the major search engines. Armed with this key statistics, now it is time to utilize a tool to find out how many searches were performed for ”New York real estate” within the last month. The Overture Keyword Selector Tool tells us there were nearly 29,000 searches last month for the keyword phrase ”New York real estate”.
Using a 10-15% estimate, achieving a number 1 ranking for the keyword phrase ”New York real estate” would bring in nearly 3,000 visitors each month. We can expect similar returns for the other 9 related keyword terms the real estate company decided to target, providing the SEO company can achieve a top 10 ranking for those keywords as well. The average website conversion rate is 1 to 2 very good leads per 100 visitors, this works out to 1%-2% or about 40 quality leads for the New York real estate company each month. We can expect the real estate company to close between 1-2 deals of the 40 leads each month for the six months long search engine optimization campaign.
So what is the bottom line?
If the average real estate transactions is worth $5,000, over the six months this could translate into $10,000 X 6 months = $60,000. After deducting the search engine optimization fees of $5,500 we were left with $54,500 in extra sales which is over a 1,000% return on investment. Although this illustration greatly simplifies the estimated ROI of a search engine marketing campaign it is useful in providing a better understanding of the approach needed to arrive at a decision to outsource your SEO project or perform in-house search engine optimization.